top of page

Siargao, A Dream Come True!

My 5 Days Siargao Itinerary

I honestly don’t know how to start this but one thing is for sure, this is a sad news because its going to be a thousand of words. I will understand if you suddenly hit that close button whenever you want to or decide to leave this page at this very moment as you read this because words are not engaging! Hahaha I won’t blame you. So let us get this party started? Let Me!

The first thing that comes to my mind before every time I hear “Siargao” is it is just a place in the Philippines. That’s it, Part of Mindanao. Not even a gem to be treasured or a piece of heaven to be discovered. All I know is it is the province of one of my closest friends. Everything had changed now.

Siargao is different from Surigao. It is actually one of the Islands of Surigao Del Norte. Siargao is well-known for being the Surfing mecca of the Philippines but unfortunately I myself really don’t surf. If you count Surfing the internet, I am a pro then. Never I had tried even I went to other surfing spots in the Philippines already. This is going to be my first ever. Wish me luck! One unacceptable reason is because I am beach bummer! Forever and for always! I do enjoy to be under the sun and get the darkest skin as I can. Lol. But hey shoutout to all beach bummers out there! Party under the freaking heat of the raging sun, Why not?

Siargao is easily becoming everyone’s paradise and dominating every bucket list. I just found myself one day that I am dreaming to go there until the day I have decided to book one and pack. That’s it! We are now actually on our way to Siargao! Vamonos!

One month before my planned Vacation leave from work, I checked for a direct flight from Manila to Siargao and that’s with Skyjet , you can check them out at their website but I find the 2-way fare a bit expensive. Oh wait? No, not a bit but totally expensive. For working people like me who dream to travel everywhere and anywhere, you must definitely look for a cheaper option or the cheapest if possible. We live for promos! If you catch one, don’t waste it.

Skyjet does promo also, but still not applicable for me. Here is the other option I am talking about. Cebu Pacific, a local airline, offers flight to Siargao, not a direct one from Manila but from Cebu so I booked Manila-Cebu-Siargao and luckily, I got promo! All praise for the Independence day of The Philippines, Cebu Pacific had promos! Mirror Mirror on the wall? Who’s the luckiest of them all?

Manila to Cebu – Php 1099

Cebu to Siargao – Php799

Siargao to Cebu – Php 499

Cebu to Manila – Php 2249 (forget this one, I booked it in the nick of travel time)

Now, you do the Math!

See the determination, passion and luck that you have to search for options? Haha it actually paid off! Congrats!

No Worries Skyjet, I have nothing against you. Now might not be the perfect time for us! Soon, I hope.

Pray for the best weather as possible for in Siargao, it really varies, and might cancel flights. Fingers crossed to mine!

Are you bored now? We are heading! Keep Going!

Day 1

04:30AM-05:40AM : Manila To Cebu

07:40AM-08:40AM : Cebu to Manila

09:00AM-09:45AM : ETD Paglaom Hostel

10:00AM-12:00PM : Unpacked/Rest

12:00PM-2:00PM : Went to Cemetery (Surfing spot)

2:00PM-4:00PM : Beach Bum

4:00PM-5:00PM : Freshen Up

5:00PM-6:00PM : Late Lunch/Early dinner at Mama’s Grill

6:00PM-9:00PM : Back To Hostel

9:00PM-1:00AM : Went to Bravo

2:00AM : Good Night

Okay so now, that is my itinerary for Day 1. How was it?

I personally don’t need an extravagant place to stay at so I choose to stay in a hostel. Every time I get to travel alone, which I love to do and people are asking me why, I choose hostels cos you get to meet new people, make connections, discover the place together and share memories. Moreover, I’ll be spending most of my time outside and not just in the 4 corners of an air-conditioned room. People, nature is out there and waiting to be discovered. go out! Friends, make sure you also checkout the reviews and comments first before making a reservation. You might want to arrange pickups as well with your hotels. Go on, sure they have.

I had booked myself to one of Siargao’s best hostels, Paglaom Hostel. I did arrange with them my accommodation for 4 nights and pickup back and forth to the airport. Checkout their website or you may find them at Hostel World or Booking.com and alike. Paglaom is a place where you will feel that you are accepted. Staff persons are really nice and very friendly. Simple place yet amazing vibe! They make everyone part of the family and that is so special! No Joke at all. Paying for a cheap price, like Php350/night, is just a bonus points compare to all memories of my stay. Definitely my home in Siargao!

Accommodation : 4 nights x Php350/night = Php1400

Transport from Airport to Hostel: Php300

Hostel to Airport: Php300

Upon arrival, Hostel staff welcomed me and other guests so dearly and informed us about the hostel’s rules and regulations then I unpacked my things and rest for a while.

I got invited by my new found friends right away to the Sugba Lagoon but I declined. That is one thing I regret, soon you’ll find out why. On my first day I decided to take it easy and just be more relax and chill in the beach. Before this, I went for a walk with the hostel owner, Koy, and another guest, Paco from Spain. They went for surfing in cemetery, and me? Beach bumming with super lovable and sweet dogs!

My first ever meal in Siargao was at Mama’s Grill with all-time favourite street foods! Dang, they were really good. Mama’s grill can be crowded most of the times.

And would you believe that you can also have a night life in Siargao? The answer is Yes! You may ask the hostel staff for a good recommendation.

Day 2

5:00AM : Wake Up

6:00AM : Island Hopping

6:15AM : Guyam Island

6:45AM : ETD to Club Tara

8:30AM : Club Tara (photo Op)

9:00AM : ETD to Sohoton Island, Bucas Grande

9:15AM : Sohoton Bay Visitor’s Lounge; Register and Breakfast

10:15AM : Sohoton Tour; Jelly Fish, Caves, Hopping and Cliff Diving

12:15PM : Back To Sohoton Bay Visitor’s Lounge, take-out lunch and ETD To Naked Island

1:45PM : Naked Island

3:00PM : Daku Island

3:15PM : ETD To Hostel

4:00PM : Hostel; Rest and Freshen Up

5:00PM : ETD to Cloud 9; photo Op

5:30PM : Café Loka for Snack

6:20PM : Mama’s Grill to buy Dinner

7:00PM : Family Dinner and Games @ Paglaom Hostel

9:45PM : Buddha’s Bar

12:00AM : Hotspot Bar

3:00AM : Lights Out

Day 2

Who’s up for an island hopping? Today is gonna be our day!

We woke up by 5 in the morning to prepare for the tour. Thanks to my new found friends for inviting me to join them. They actually have managed to deal with a boatman for a cheaper price. Hooray! Here it is, we rented a boat for *P3,600, to be divided by 3, and that includes Guyam, Naked, Daku, Club Tara and Boat ride to Bucas Grande and Sohoton Bay Visitor’s Lounge. At Sohoton Lounge, you have to pay for separate fee. This will include the separate tour to Bucas Grande and Sohoton Island in another boat ride. Activities will include stingless jellyfish hunting, cave tours, cliff diving if possible, and others.

Here’s the common thing that is happening there,

Majority of the tours in Siargao, they only offer island hopping for just 3 islands such as Guyam, Naked and Daku island for around Php850/person which includes a scrumptious lunch.

And another separate tour to Bucas Grande and Sohoton island for P2000/head that includes Entrance fees and activities, boat, delicious lunch and others.

Well, not bad for each tour but like I said earlier on this blog, search for options! Options Options Options! Our boat man is a heaven-sent and he gladly spent his day with us! Props to you Kuya!

As you remember, we rented the big boat for like P1200/each, no food included but it actually didn’t matter at all. You can bring your own snack anyway. I won’t be emphasizing each island we visited but I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

At Sohoton Bay Visitor’s Lounge, we took a light meal before heading to the Bucas Grande and Sohoton tour. Also, we ordered already for our lunch, so while we were having the tour, they are preparing it. It was really good to save time. For the three of us, we collectively paid for the tour itself for P1,540. P515/each. Took our lunch out after the tour and decided to eat it in the boat while on our way to the next island.

Enjoy!

After the tiring yet awesome tour, we still managed to roam around Cloud Nine and have a delicious snack at Café Loka. I’ll have another write-ups about my food trips. Cloud Nine has an amazing view during sunrise as well, and waves are really cool in the morning.

Hey, It is Thursday! That means, Its Family Dinner at Paglaom. This is actually one thing I really like about this hostel. They have this kind of activity that bonds the guests and give them a chance to know each other. Each paglaomer has his own potluck, or by group if you prefer to. I just joined forces with my tour-mates earlier so we can go cheaper with the expense. It depends if you really want to cook or just buy in the nearby restaurants or grills. We went to Mama’s Grill to buy barbeques because no one among the three of us wants to cook. All along we thought that everyone will just buy, but no, other guests really prepared with their special dishes. And they all tasted like heaven. All good! Better than barbeques we bought. Lol! Sorry I wasn’t able to ask for those dishes.

We had games after, drinks and everyone was having a good time.

Then we decided to take the fun to other place, also because its 10pm already, hostel rule.

Still there? Glad to know you keep your interest!

Day 3

7:30AM : Good Morning

9:00AM : Cloud 9 to go Surfing

11:00AM : Café Loka for Brunch

12:00PM : Back To Hostel, Rest

3:00PM : Lunch @ Cashey’s Place

4:00PM : Stroll and store Hopping

6:00PM : Back To Hostel

8:00PM-11:00PM : Sleep

11:00PM-2:00AM : Dinner and Chill

Day 3

Sleepless? Definitely not part of my Siargao dictionary.

Let’s go surfing!!!

Like I mentioned before, you can catch good waves in the morning so we initially planned to have it by 6:30am but you know the drill in the Philippines, 6:30am becomes 9am. Every Filipino relates. But it was never too late, I hope. We were able to surf. We have arranged the surfing lesson with instructor for Php500 good for an hour. If you’ll be renting the surf board alone that would cost you around P350-P400, that varies of course. Thanks to my instructor, Kuya Ramon, for letting me surf for more than an hour. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it. One of my firsts!

Surfing can get you tired and hungry, so what is the best way to beat that? Eat!!! Because we loved what we had at café Loka, we decided to have brunch there. Sad to say, that they don’t have rice meals there. How frustrating was that?

Don’t worry cos I got a solution for you, go to Cashey’s place. They do serve rice meals and Filipino delicacies.

That’s it for my Day 3!

Day 4

7:00AM : Rise and Shine

8:30AM : Breakfast at Shaka

10:00AM : ETD to Sugba Lagoon

12:00PM : Went back to Hostel cos of unexpected Accident; didn’t push through the Sugba Lagoon.

1:30PM : ETD To Magpupungko Beach and Tidal Pools

2:30PM : Magpupungko Beach and Tidal Pools

3:30PM : ETD to Hostel

4:30PM : Hostel; Freshen Up

7:00PM : Mama’s Grill with the other Paglaomers for Dinner

8:30PM : Drink and Games at the Hostel

10:30PM : Harana Bar

12:00AM : Rumbar

3:00AM : Good night

Day 4

Let’s make this day memorable.

Having breakfast at Shaka is definitely a good way to start your day. It is a “must” to go there. Wondering why? Well it is because of their mouth-watering power bowls and colorfully made smoothies and others. I was drooling seeing those.

After having a satisfying breakfast, I have decided to go to Sugba Lagoon. You can find this beautiful gem in Del Carmen. You can see a lot of tours in Siargao that include Sugba Lagoon. You can take those tours or just rent a van or habal-habal who could take you there.

As per my friends, the boat itself is good for 6 persons that equivalent to Php1600. I believe entrance fee is not also included but that is just cheap for Php20-50. So better have it in a group.

This is going to be the saddest part of my trip, I was driving myself with a motorbike going there and it suddenly rained, on and off actually, so I was along the highway and was looking for a place for the meantime when I had to brake so fast as I saw one then I got slipped with the motorbike. Not to mention that I am with someone whom I invited if he wants to join in Sugba, he’s a French guy and I was totally worried about him than myself. I felt guilty and sorry for that. Giom Où que vous soyez, soyez sûr! je suis désolé!

That was so careless of me, I know. So we decided to just go back to Hostel to have rest. I just thought maybe I could just do Sugba Lagoon the next day.

The adventurer in me didn’t stop me to go to Magpupungko Beach and Tidal pools. This time I had gone alone cos I don’t want anyone to be hurt again. Just myself! Lol. So it was an hour of driving as well, I was so careful then. It is said that you should go there when its low tide because that’s the only time you can see and enjoy the tidal pools. There is an entrance fee of Php50 as I remember. Check out a separate blog about it.

Remember I had planned my Sugba the next day, right? I was not able to do it again. Here’s why, I got another motorbike accident night before. I don’t want to elaborate more of this accident but yeah, it happened again. So better be careful when driving, I was not drunk by the way! Not actually my fault.

So I guess my last day in Siargao will be for my wounds and injuries. Lol!

Day 4 and Thank God, I’m still alive!

Day 5

7:00AM : Last Morning in Siargao

8:00AM : Pack my things

9:00AM : Freshen up

10:30AM : Brunch at Kermit Resort

11:15AM : Rest/Wound Dressing

12:00PM : Picked Up by Van to Airport

2:00PM : Sayak Airport to Cebu Mactan International Airport

2:45PM : Mactan Airport

4:30PM : Cebu to Manila

6:30PM : HOME

Day 5

It is gonna be my last day in the paradise … for now!

Kermit Resort is really an awesome place to stay at. I heard a lot of good reviews about it and everything in Kermit sounds awesome. I went there to try their food and it really satisfies my stomach. Place is so peaceful and has cool ambiance.

My 5 days in Siargao went really so fast! It is not enough and I do promise to go back here, take note of the Sugba Lagoon I am dreaming to visit. I will on my next visit. Lol. Nevertheless, I had enjoyed Siargao the best way I can imagine despite of all the injuries I got. Oh well, they are my Siargao souveniers! They’ll be forever part of me!

You can enjoy Siargao in a way you wanted, quiet and peaceful vibe or full of adventures and fun or even partying almost every night. You name it, Siargao has it! I love the fact is not that industrialized much yet and crowd is still numerically controllable. You feel the simplicity of the place.

People of Siargao, please take good care of your paradise! Don’t ruin it.

Til we meet again, Siargao. You are a dream come true!

Thank you all for reading these posts til the very end! Hope you were able to get something helpful on your future travel to Siargao!

kebyanrico

PS. This blog is still to be updated. And I really tried to edit all the photos of mine but work is killing my time. I hope you guys enjoyed whatever you had found in here :)

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page